Any way to debug easily ?

Feb 1, 2010 at 11:10 PM

To clarify : I'm not trying to debug the lua code (I use decoda for this) but the LuaLanguage project itself while it is running in Visual Studio

Hello,

Since I started to use VSLua, I decided to give a look at the source to see what I can do to improve it. In particular, I'd like to see some intellisense features working.

I'm new to Irony but I think I could so something for Intellisense. Looking all the function xxxx() shouldn't be _that_ hard, I guess ;-)

My main problem now is the workflow to build, start and debug the application. The only process I found till now is :

- Build the app

- Launch the "%VSSDK90Install%\VisualStudioIntegration\Tools\Bin\regpkg.exe" manually, since it fails to find the binary in visual for a reason I ignore

- Close visual studio, so the LuaLanguage.dll is freed

- Copy the bin/Debug/LuaLanguage.dll to overwrite C:\Program Files\Salec.net\Lua Language Service (VS 2008)\LuaLanguage.dll

- Start my lua project, test the newly compiled VSLua

- Close the lua project, and open the LuaLanguage solution

- Goto 1

What I didn't try, for now, is to attach the devenv.exe running the lua project (hence, the lualanguage.dll) to the lualanguage project. Maybe is it possible to break in the C# project.

Did you find a more handy way to work ?

Anyway, thanks for your work !

Regards,

Tom

Coordinator
Feb 1, 2010 at 11:47 PM

Hey Tom,

I'm glad you want to contribute to the project :)  Here are the steps I use to debug the package on my local machine:

1. Uninstall VS Lua from your system.  If you don't do this, you'll have the installed version and working version fighting with each other.
  2. Open the solution and make sure the LuaLanguage project is selected as the Startup Project (right click and select "Set As Startup Project" if it's not)
  3. Make sure you are building Debug and not Release
  4. Right click LuaLanguage and Select Properties, then to to the Debug section.